Post

12 followers Follow
3
Avatar

how to purge custom recovery points

 I have some very  old custom full backup recovery points that I need to remove from my RPS.  The scheduled merge job forces me to keep 1 custom job but I don't want any at all.  I am running V5 update 4.

How can I do this?

Thanks,

Diego

Diego Alonso

Please sign in to leave a comment.

12 comments

0
Avatar

Hi Diego,

Thank you for writing to us. To your question, here is the explanations.

as per the design of UDP, In custom recovery point retention, there should be at least one to retain, due to the fact that UDP enables you to run custom/manual backups, and incase of any custom backups that you run, it needs such a configuration to keep that backup recovery point. Since it differentiates the recovery points in terms of Daily, weekly, monthly and custom, There should at least be one in there, so when you run a manual backup, it can retain it in that one place.

To get rid of that one old custom RP, you can run another custom incremental to take its place, but if that custom RP is a full backup and is the base line to the incremental backup chain(all the other backups), it always will have that data in datastore as every other sequential incremental are referring to it.

 

Priyanka 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
1
Avatar

Hello,

But isn't running a custom backup optional, not mandatory?  If I where to have never run a custom then there would be no custom backup set chain and therefore no need to keep any.  I have a full chain of full/incremental using daily backups and have no use for this old,  one-off custom backup that I did for some reason that I cannot remember anymore.

BTW, the reason I want to delete it is that I am running out of space on my RPS drive and I have several of these custom full backups for several different servers.  I would like to delete them without deleting all backups and starting over and losing my existing history.  Surely there must be some way.  Maybe a command line utility?

 

 

Diego Alonso 1 vote
Comment actions Permalink
2
Avatar

I would like to know this as well. If it isn't currently available, could a feature request be put in to allow selective deletion of recovery points?

John Malin 2 votes
Comment actions Permalink
2
Avatar

I agree, this would be a nice feature.

I have the same problem, where if someone runs a Custom backup job and I'm unaware of it, it will sit there forever.

Chris Calfas 2 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Diego,

can you set "0" RecoveryPoints for the CUSTOM/ MANUAL RPs ?

georg

Georg Pohl 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
1
Avatar

Hello Georg,

Unfortunately the GUI will not allow "0" in that box.  I opened a case with support and they confirm neither V5 nor V6 has the ability to remove individual restore points from the RPS.  They had me request it as a new feature but no promises or ETA.

 

Thanks,

Diego

Diego Alonso 1 vote
Comment actions Permalink
1
Avatar

Hi

I am also interested in the outcome from this post. We also have some custom backups that are no longer needed.

Though it is possible to merge multiple customs into a minimum of 1 RP. But it would be nice to be able to remove them all!

Jens Johnsen 1 vote
Comment actions Permalink
2
Avatar

Hi there, is there any news to this topic, can we remove custom RP's?

Sebastian Pukljak 2 votes
Comment actions Permalink
1
Avatar

What's the status on this one?

The merge feature doesn't let you choose which restore points you wanna keep and which not. Sometimes you wanna keep the older ones but merge/delete the newer ones, so there is a real need for this.

Joachim Rang 1 vote
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

I'd also like to know when they could add that feature.  I've got several different datastores and would like to cleanup a few by removing recovery points older than one year.  It looks like you can browse, copy and mount recovery points, but not eliminate specific ones.  I suppose you could use the session name to delete the corresponding content under the datastore folder, but that would probably still leave it in the catalog.  I'm still working with a professional services resource on a few things and will ask him, but when I posted the question to Arcserve support, I received the same response that the Merge function was the only way to eliminate recovery points.

Scott Gunelius 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

I don't think you can just delete the session data directly on the disk. That would mess up the deduplication. If you want to delete items that are over a year old you could counth the daily/weekly/monthly sessions on the datastore and merge them down to what you want to keep, or just temporarily change the schedule to not have anything over a year and let UDP merge them automatically.

John Malin 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
2
Avatar

Still nothing on this? I have been going through my datastores and finding custom recovery points from over a year ago and the only way to remove them is to have the plan set to only keep 1 custom recovery point and create a new one. That means I need to make a custom recovery point every year, or on another schedule, to clean out the old data.

John Malin 2 votes
Comment actions Permalink