KB labels


Ticket Product Version

Ticket Category

Ticket Assignee


Hot Fixes

Published Fixes
Your Arcserve Support User Profile
First Name:
Last Name:
email:
Phone:
Company:*
Customer Type:
Language:

Country:
Region:

Time zone:
Follow

arcserve-KB : Restore Data Using Find Files/Folders to Restore

Last Update: 2016-11-23 17:24:01 UTC


Description:

Each time the application performs a successful backup, all backed up files or folders are included in the snapshot image of your backup. This restore method allows you to specify exactly which file or folder you want to restore.

Solution:

To restore data using find files/folders to restore:

  1. From the Navigation bar, click Restore.
  2. From the Node Explorer list on the Restore screen, expand the group containing the node where you want to recover data. Click that node and then click Find Files/Folders to Restore.
  3. On the Find Files/Folders to Restore dialog, specify or browse to the Backup Location. If you are restoring from a CA ARCserve Central Host-Based VM Backup session, you cannot specify a File Copy Location. File Copy restore is permitted only if you are restoring from CA ARCserve Central Protection Manager or CA ARCserve D2D backup sessions.
  4. Specify the file or folder name to restore.

    Note: The File Name field supports full name searching and wildcard searching. If you do not know the complete file name, you can simplify the results of the search by specifying the wildcard characters '*' and '?' in the File Name field.

    The wildcard characters supported for the file or folder name are as follows:
  5. (Optional) Specify a path name to further filter your search and select whether to include or not include subdirectories or files and folders.
  6. Click Find to launch the search.

    The results of the search are displayed. If the search discovers multiple occurrences (recovery points) of the same searched file, it lists all occurrences sorted by date (with the most recent listed first).

    Figure 1
  7. Select the version that you want to restore from the list and click Next.

    The Restore Options dialog is displayed. You may restore to an alternate location only. Specify or browse to the location where you want the backup image stored. Click the green arrow to verify the connection. Provide user credentials, if needed.
  8. Select the conflict resolution options:

    Overwrite existing files
    Overwrites (replaces) any existing files that are located at the restore destination. All objects are restored from the backup files regardless of their current presence on your computer.

    Replace active files
    Replaces any active files upon reboot. If during the restore attempt, the software discovers that the existing file is currently in use or being accessed and it does not immediately replace that file, but instead to avoid any problems, it delays the replacement of the active files until the next time that you reboot the computer. (The restore occurs immediately, but the replacement of any active files is done during the next reboot).

    Note: If this option is not selected, then any active file is skipped from the restore.

    Rename files
    Creates a new file if the file name exists. Selecting this option copies the source file to the destination with the same filename but a different extension. Data is then restored to the new file.

    Skip existing files
    Skips over and does not overwrite (replace) any existing files that are located at the restore destination. Only objects that do not currently exist on your computer are restored from the backup files. By default, this option is selected.
  9. (Optional) Select Create root directory from the Directory Structure.

    This option recreates the same root directory structure on the restore destination path.

    Note: If this option is not selected, the file or folder is restored directly to the destination folder.
  10. Enter the backup encryption password to restore the encrypted data and then click Next.

    Figure 2
  11. The Restore Summary dialog is displayed.
  12. Review the displayed information to verify that all the restore options and settings are correct.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments